• exterior
  • welcome reception area
  • room-breakfast -tray
  • fitness-room
  • 4postbed-whiteroom
  • exterior-bw
  • 1462993 10152026257597463 1992766371 n

History

Share

history-bw-170x149
Claussen’s Bakery contributed greatly to the industrial and commercial development of Columbia. It was built in 1928 for George Frederick Claussen who was the grandson of Johann Christian Heinrick Claussen, a German immigrant who started the family business as a steam bakery in Charleston.  Claussen’s Bakery was a significant building in the early development of Columbia and Five Points since it anchors on one of the major entrances to the area.

In 1928, visitors to Claussen’s were greeted with the aroma of fresh baked breads. Claussen’s Bakery was one of six regional bakeries providing baked goods to customers throughout the Southeast. The bakery served the people of Columbia until 1963.

In 1986, the bakery doors reopened as Claussen’s Inn, with a completely remodeled interior. Many aspects of the old bakery were kept and restored to their original beauty. Today they complement the furnishings and give the Inn its unique southern charm.  The two-story brick building was officially listed in the National Register in 1987.

The hotel staff honors the Inn’s bakery days by offering fresh bagels, muffins, and other breakfast pastries for guests each morning.  “You can almost smell the bread baking!”